Home > In The Home > Who You Can Complain to About Landlords

Who You Can Complain to About Landlords

By: Thomas Muller - Updated: 9 Sep 2017 | comments*Discuss
 
Landlord Complaint Complaints Procedure

Under the terms of the tenancy agreement, landlords are legally bound to provide a good standard of accommodation. If they fail to honour this in any way then the tenant has every right to complain.

Upholding Landlord Standards

As a tenant you have every right to expect that certain standards are upheld by your rented accommodation and the landlord. These should be outlined in your tenancy agreement.

In summary, the landlord must ensure that your home is safe and in good repair. If you have kept to your side of the tenancy agreement then you are entitled to all your deposit back at the end of your lease. If the landlord withholds this then they must prove why they are doing so. If they harass you then they could be breaking the law. And finally they must follow the correct procedure if they ask you to leave the property.

If they fail to meet the standards outlined in the contract then you have both a right and a duty to complain.

First Discuss With Your Landlord

If your landlord is failing to uphold their terms then you should first discuss the matter with them directly, either in person or over the phone. They should be given the opportunity to sort out the problem before any official complaint procedures are followed. They may even not be aware there is a problem and prove willing and able to rectify the situation promptly.

You should give your landlord a reasonable time to put things right. How long it is reasonable will depend on the nature of the problem. If your drains are blocked then you would expect immediate action, but the handle has fallen off the kitchen door then it is fair to wait a couple of weeks at most.

If the landlord needs to access the property to carry out any repairs then you must give them reasonable access to the property, and in return they should give you 24 hours notice of their visit, and call at a sensible time.

Complaint Procedures

If this approach fails to achieve a satisfactory resolution – perhaps you feel they are ignoring you or not taking your problem seriously – you can take your problem to the next level by enquiring as to whether the landlord operates an official complaints procedure.

As mandatory members of the Independent Housing Ombudsman Scheme, all social landlords are required have a procedure in place for dealing with complaints. Copies should be able from their offices.

Private landlords are not obliged to operate such a procedure, although the larger ones typically do, as well as those that have chosen to be part of the Independent Housing Ombudsman Scheme or a landlord accreditation scheme.

If your rented accommodation is council owned then you should instead follow its own complaints procedure.

Ombudsman Support

If the final result of the respective complaints procedure proves unsatisfactory then you are entitled to raise the issue with the appropriate ombudsman scheme, which will investigate the complaint and offer its own assessment.

If your landlord is a member of the Independent Housing Ombudsman the complaint should be taken up with them. If your property is council owned and they have failed provide a satisfactory resolution then they are answerable to the Local Government Ombudsman.

Complaint Letter

If the landlord is not answerable to a complaints procedure you should instead send them a formal letter of complaint.

The letter should be addressed to the appropriate member of staff at the correct address, and be clearly identifiable as a complaint. The text should clearly define the problem and what you want the landlord to do to put things right.

Contact the Council

If such efforts prove futile and your landlord is still failing to honour the tenancy agreement then you should contact your local authority. Housing officers should offer advice on what to do, aid you if your situation has become difficult as a result of the dispute and also help you in pursuing the matter further. They have the power to take action - under the Landlord and Tenant Act 1985, the local council is able to prosecute landlords.

Seeking Advice

Aside from your local authority’s Housing department, Tenancy Relations Office or Environmental Health Department, you could also seek advice from a Law Centre, Citizens Advice Bureau, Housing Advice Centre or a solicitor.

Such advisors will prove invaluable if your complaint is not resolved and no other option is left open other than to go to court in order to enforce your rights.

You might also like...
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice..
[Add a Comment]
145N - Your Question:
We have just moved in about a week ago and have found a few problems, we have a wobbly floor board upstairs in the bathroom and feels a bit unstable, the room that we are planning for our baby has mould underneath the wallpaper, also cracks in the wall underneath the wallpaper where a plug socket is and a hole in the floor under the radiator, a hole on the ceiling and floor where pipes are which are also loose. Our front door has no letterbox flaps on either side which brings in cold draught also there is a gap at the bottom of the door which shrinks when cold and if get hot, the door gets stuck. Our baby is premature and in hostpital still and concerned if she comes home it will make her ill as she is most vulnerable. We are most concerned about the mould and draught and the hole in the floor where the nursery will be. We have phoned the estate and a maintenance man did come round after we kept calling him for about a few days and when he came he didn't seem interested to what we shown him and haven't heard back since. What can we do ?

Our Response:
You can see more via the gov.uk link here which should explain all you need to know.
ComplaintExpert - 11-Sep-17 @ 3:58 PM
We have just moved in about a week ago and have found a few problems, we have a wobbly floor board upstairs in the bathroom and feels a bit unstable, the room that we are planning for our baby has mould underneath the wallpaper, also cracks in the wall underneath the wallpaper where a plug socket is and a hole in the floor under the radiator, a hole on the ceiling and floor where pipes are which are also loose. Our front door has no letterbox flaps on either side which brings in cold draught also there is a gap at the bottom of the door which shrinks when cold and if get hot, the door gets stuck. Our baby is premature and in hostpital still and concerned if she comes home it will make her ill as she is most vulnerable. We are most concerned about the mould and draught and the hole in the floor where the nursery will be. We have phoned the estate and a maintenance man did come round after we kept calling him for about a few days and when he came he didn't seem interested to what we shown him and haven't heard back since. What can we do ?
145N - 9-Sep-17 @ 4:58 PM
I've been renting a room for almost 6 months and I've had problems since the beginning of the tenancy, to mention some: 1. We don’t have locks in our doors and at least 3 times the landlady or people that she authorized had entered in my room without notice or reason. I’ve had arguments with her but she kept doing it 2. My tenancy agreement is finally finishing at the end of the month and I’ll be moving out (she didn’t let me finish before). The thing is that a bit more than a month ago she allowed one of the flatmates to bring a girl to live with him, and this girl resulted to be an alcoholic. She is on her own in the house while everyone else is working (with no locks in the rooms) and in that time she’s been stilling all my spirits in the cupboards and creating a mess. I’ve complained a lot of times and the landlord doesn’t care because I’m leaving anyway. 3. And the main problem now: The house was advertised with 3 parking spaces (for 4 rooms), and I bought a car 1 month ago, using one of the parking spaces (just one other flatmate has a car so we were fine). But today she told me that she is renting out that parking place and she will use the other space (she doesn’t live in the house), so I don’t have parking anymore. (I have WhatsApp messages and a few emails too with the arguments for all those things if that helps) I don’t know what can I do. She’s been doing a lot of things like that since I’m in the house and now because I’m living is getting worse. I need advice on what to do. Also, I’ve been researching about the legal steps when you rent in the UK and I’ve found a few things that she never done. If you could give me advice I’ll be really grateful as I don’t know what else can I do. Thanks
Cote - 15-Aug-17 @ 2:11 PM
Bo - Your Question:
I've been renting privately for 10 months now. None of the bills are in my name, they're in my landlords name and I pay him directly. He owns the house and pays a mortgage on it. I've not been supplied with a smoke alarm or a carbon monoxide detector. Repairs have not been done either. He's living with his fiance and openly admits here not registered at her address. I'm concerned that he's doing something illegal. My partner moved in with me two weeks ago, my landlord has been round several times during that period and even met my partner. He stated that there's no issue with him living with me, but rent is to go up - which I expected - we agreed on the new rent amount and this was paid on the due date (24th July) during that whole day I received verbally abusive and harassing text messages from my landlord now stating that it was an issue my boyfriend moving in (even though for two weeks prior to this date he knew my partner was there and did not state any issues with it) he proceeded to tell me I was "taking the piss" out of him for having my partner live with me. My tenancy agreement does not state that it's single occupancy only, nor anything to do with having anyone live with me. After pointing out to him that he could have mentioned it during his several visits to the house that I did not understand why he now has an issue, and that I was feeling intimidated by his messages he told me a new contact was in the post for me and my partner to sign. Two days later I receive a hand written letter telling me I have one month to leave the house "under the circumstances". I feel totally at a loss as what action to take. My partner and I are looking elsewhere but who can I contact with regards to the issues (no smoke alarm, abusive harassment etc)?

Our Response:
In this case you would need to seek professional advice . The Citizens Advice may be able to help you further, please see link here. Please also see gov.uk link here which will help you further. If you have kept previous texts, these may help if you need to take the matter further.
ComplaintExpert - 28-Jul-17 @ 10:36 AM
I've been renting privately for 10 months now. None of the bills are in my name, they're in my landlords name and I pay him directly. He owns the house and pays a mortgage on it. I've not been supplied with a smoke alarm or a carbon monoxide detector. Repairs have not been done either. He's living with his fiance and openly admits here not registered at her address. I'm concerned that he's doing something illegal. My partner moved in with me two weeks ago, my landlord has been round several times during that period and even met my partner. He stated that there's no issue with him living with me, but rent is to go up - which I expected - we agreed on the new rent amount and this was paid on the due date (24th July) during that whole day I received verbally abusive and harassing text messages from my landlord now stating that it was an issue my boyfriend moving in (even though for two weeks prior to this date he knew my partner was there and did not state any issues with it) he proceeded to tell me I was "taking the piss" out of him for having my partner live with me. My tenancy agreement does not state that it's single occupancy only, nor anything to do with having anyone live with me. After pointing out to him that he could have mentioned it during his several visits to the house that I did not understand why he now has an issue, and that I was feeling intimidated by his messages he told me a new contact was in the post for me and my partner to sign. Two days later I receive a hand written letter telling me I have one month to leave the house "under the circumstances". I feel totally at a loss as what action to take. My partner and I are looking elsewhere but who can I contact with regards to the issues (no smoke alarm, abusive harassment etc)?
Bo - 26-Jul-17 @ 7:41 PM
Deni - Your Question:
I have lived in sheltered accommodation for nearly 3 years now.It has old style night storage heaters that are ineffective. They cost me £400 to run for the first winter quarter.Last November (2016),due to bad ventilation (already established by independent source to be their lack of extractor fans).The mould and damp affected EVERY room and caused me to loose some items,and have to replace several.Due to them being slow to act(7months to be precise,despite numerous emails,phone calls,and,contributions from my Mental health team and M.P) the problem escalated.Since beginning of June,they have fitted a dehumidifier unit ,and repainted the bathroom.A residue of mould and damp remains behind my kitchen units,as they are not accessible to treat.The housing association, sent someone to replace the shelf in this unit,and by his own admission he said they needed replacing,even submitting photos on my behalf.This was one month ago.Curo have promised to send another person to access it,so far I have been contacting them several times a week,as the smell from my utensil drawer and under the sink cupboard is very obvious every time they are opened.I have spoken to 3 different people so say from same department who agree an assessor should come out and look,but they are failing to make a firm appointment with me,or return my calls as they promise.I am 60 years old and moved here because of physical difficulties and mental health reasons.Please help,I am frustrated that I should be always chasing them to do work,they are well aware of.Some days I feel suicidal,as I know it will mean more ineffective chasing up.Thankyou.

Our Response:
I am sorry to hear this. The Shelter link here tells you more on how you can make an official complaint. As evidence, I would make sure you keep a diary of all correspondence and the failures of your landlords to act.
ComplaintExpert - 25-Jul-17 @ 10:56 AM
I have lived in sheltered accommodation for nearly 3 years now.It has old style night storage heaters that are ineffective. They cost me £400 to run for the first winter quarter. Last November (2016),due to bad ventilation (already established by independent source to be their lack of extractor fans).The mould and damp affected EVERY room and caused me to loose some items,and have to replace several. Due to them being slow to act(7months to be precise,despite numerous emails,phone calls,and,contributions from my Mental health team and M.P) the problem escalated. Since beginning of June,they have fitted a dehumidifier unit ,and repainted the bathroom.A residue of mould and damp remains behind my kitchen units,as they are not accessible to treat. The housing association, sent someone to replace the shelf in this unit,and by his own admission he said they needed replacing,even submitting photos on my behalf.This was one month ago.Curo have promised to send another person to access it,so far I have been contacting them several times a week,as the smell from my utensil drawer and under the sink cupboard is very obvious every time they are opened. I have spoken to 3 different people so say from same department who agree an assessor should come out and look,but they are failing to make a firm appointment with me,or return my calls as they promise. I am 60 years old and moved here because of physical difficulties and mental health reasons. Please help,I am frustrated that I should be always chasing them to do work,they are well aware of..Some days I feel suicidal,as I know it will mean more ineffective chasing up..Thankyou.
Deni - 24-Jul-17 @ 8:55 AM
@Tenant - You can also apply to the small claims court.
Abbie - 20-Jul-17 @ 12:28 PM
Hi, my landlord did not return my deposit in full and he argued that the house was not left in a good condition. However with our photo evidence from both moving in and out, clearly we have done the house cleaning thoroughly or even better than its initial state. It is very hard to obtain my full deposit back because it was not secured by the DPS. I think we as tenants have the rights to obtain full amount back. Advice needed.
Tenant - 19-Jul-17 @ 12:15 PM
@CRM - By rights your landlord is responsible for replacing the washine machine if the flat is fully furnished (check the terms of your lease). You don't say on what grounds notice has been given and what type of contract you are on, i.e whether fixed or rolling. So, it would help to know what grounds your landlord is evicting you under. Your landlord is under no obligation to give you a reference though, but you could ask for a rent statement. Citizens Advice or Shelter can advise you on the best way to complain.
Marc - 18-Jul-17 @ 3:54 PM
Hello, I am having an issue with my landlord. The flat is fully furnished and a few months ago the washing machine broke. We had been at the property for around 13 months when this happened and the washing machine was 6.5 years old and had been through a number of tenancies. The landlord alleged that this was our fault and told us we needed to pay "at least half". When we pointed out that we had used the washing machine in an appropriate way at all times and that we didn't feel this was our fault he refused to budge. We then got a second opinion from an engineer who confirmed that we were not at fault at all. We have therefore refused to pay and the landlord has subsequently filed a notice on us to leave. We have now found another flat to rent, but the landlord is now refusing to give us a positive reference regardless of the fact we have been good tenants, always paid the rent and are respectful of the property and kept it in good condition. He has said to our prospective new landlord that he "would normally give a reference but refuses to give us one". This is clearly a concern for us. Can you confirm if there is anything we can do or if there is any way we can complain about the landlord's conduct etc and notify potential new tenants? We did not want to move out and feel that we have been forced out by the landlord unreasonably. Thanks C
CRM - 18-Jul-17 @ 12:07 PM
@Tina -you'd have to look at the terms of your lease. All the info of what you do and do not pay for should be included. Landlords always cover themselves over stuff like this!
Sal - 31-May-17 @ 12:48 PM
I've been a good tenant rent up to date no issues 10 years here, lady has water goin into her house downstairs and after investigation seems it's coming from a pipe somewhere under me so they want me to lift the floors to do the repair I have no problem with that accept if I lift the floor it will not go back down it's glued laminate, I had permission to put it down, anyway if it's lifted it will need be replaced I don't have the money to replace it but housing association says it's my responsibility is this correct?
Tina - 30-May-17 @ 6:36 PM
I have Polish neighbours renting through a private landlord and the husband living there has verbally abused me and I reported it to the police and the landlord the landlord has sided with them and this man continues to intimidate me of which I report periodically to the police for their records. I had to have a fence put up between us I know it's too high at eight foot but he was looking and shouting through fence and I told the landlord what I was going to do with the fence of which I never had a reply. Anyway the council have been called but they have sided with me saying that it doesn't obstruct them at all. Every time I go outside on the garden or the car if he is there he stares you can see by his face he is desperate to say or do something and I feel unsafe in my own home. If I was married or had a man here I doubt whether he would be doing this.
Sam - 27-May-17 @ 5:07 PM
I am having problems with neighbours next door having gangs round fixing motor bikes in house petrol fumes gangs coming to house drugs being smoked in house by gangs I have reported them to landlord and they ignore me
Pey - 19-May-17 @ 5:31 PM
@Liliana28 - if you have roaches ring the environmental health. No person should have to live in that kind of mess :(
Pete - 15-May-17 @ 2:30 PM
Hello I'm having a problem with my landlord I was leaving in the same house for 3 years I move from there one week ago for another house with a new landlord..I find the new place and I didn't check the place because a freelancer told me if I really want that room to pay the 2 weeks deposit what I did in a same day because of him pressure ..e days after I book a view with the landlord and beforeI start leaving there I complain about the smell when I get in the door I move and in the same day I found that the kitchen was desguating rabish on the floor and cockroaches everywhere in the Kitchen after that I told him to sort out the problem and he says that do everything...same night I found the same problem since the day I move to this house I can't Cook I can't have a meal in this house I have videos everything from this situation 4 days and I told him that I gonna leave...my question is I have reason to ask all my deposit back? I apreciate a answer because I pay 2 weeks deposit 2 week advance and I notice that I leave in the first 4 days so tomorow I'm going to another place thank you
Liliana28 - 15-May-17 @ 4:43 AM
Iman - Your Question:
I'm having a problem with the council for a long time I live in a permanent flat for more than 11 years I only had one child when I first moved there now I have five kids in two bedrooms flat and my self. I have a condensation problem all the walls is full of mould and damp I'm asthmatic and my kids always have a blocked nose and the house is too small for us and the situation is becoming stressful for me and my children

Our Response:
Under housing law, there are two ways to calculate if your home is overcrowded. One way is by the number of rooms for people to sleep in. This is called the room standard. The other way is by the amount of space in the home and the number of people living in it. This is called the space standard. Statutory overcrowding is when there are too many people living in your home using either of the calculations. The Shelter link here will explain how you can calculate this and what your options are.
ComplaintExpert - 26-Apr-17 @ 11:57 AM
I'm having a problem with the council for a long time I live in a permanent flat for more than 11 years I only had one child when I first moved there now I have five kids in two bedrooms flat and my self. I have a condensation problem all the walls is full of mould and damp I'm asthmatic and my kids always have a blocked nose and the house is too small for us and the situation is becoming stressful for me and my children
Iman - 25-Apr-17 @ 1:32 PM
@Miks - you would have to go through the small claims court if your landlords are ignoring you. You can claim through Money Claim Online MCOL.
Rich46 - 18-Apr-17 @ 1:54 PM
I vacated my flat 28feb. After two weeks of no return of my deposit I contacted the landlord he replied immediately advising that I would only receive 191 of the £1045 deposit back. I was stunned as this had not been advised to me before. His staff failed to carry out the checkout procedure and in fact failed to show up when Rep did. Then two days later I received £853 back. No explanation, no apology. I have been emailing him asking for an explanation and to date nothing. His last email advised he was trying to get to the bottom of it. I'm not sure what. he is ignoringemails as nothing since 16mar. What can I do to get the remaining monies back?
Miks - 18-Apr-17 @ 5:47 AM
Hello, I have a problem with my landlord. We have been out of hot water and heating since friday. When we called on Friday night the emergency line advise us that as there was no child under 4 or adult over 65 this was not an urgent matter, therefore could only be fix on working days. So we called on Monday, were advise that either on Monday or Tuesday until 17h00 someone would come to fix it. Monday one of my flatmates missed worked and no one came, Tuesday another of my flatmates had to miss work and the "boiler man" can arrived at 18h00 and advise us that one piece need replacement. The office closes at 17h30 so we were not able to contact the landord, however we were advised that we would need to book another job. This is inadmissevel that in the Winter we are without hot water and heating for5 days. People have missed worked and will have to continue missing and still the problem is not solved. I would like to escalate my complaint futher, however I am not aware who this should be address to. I look forwad to hearing from you. Kind regards,
Jmendes - 28-Feb-17 @ 8:06 PM
I already talked to housing benefit. They can't do anything it's between me and her. They say to me to go CAB I went there , they sent me to shelter, shelter say was Council issues, called council again and they said to go legal advice. Also I ask them to stop pay into her account but they continue to pay, yesterday made another payment . I txt her yesterday and today she ignored me . I asked her several times which scheme my deposit is protected she doesn't answer. I'm living here for 4 years every time she increased rent she increased deposit as well. When she increase the rent she doesn't give me notice . Last time she said 3 days before the date to pay the rent . She is really bad landlady. My neighbours said she put another tenants out a woman with child . She change the doors locks . Last year she txt me saying that Newham Council gave fine to her because someone reported that I was subletting, I wasn't and I found it strange because she is owner property so why Council would give fine to her . I called Council and they said was lie, they did have any report from this address. So I thing she is trying to get some way to evict me or take my deposit. Now is trying make me upset so I move break the contract and she keep my money that she got overpaid and my deposit. I'm in really bad situation. To claim court will cost money . I'm not working I have a little baby :(
Aliann - 16-Feb-17 @ 10:51 PM
Aliann - Your Question:
I'm having problems with my landlady. I receive Housing Benefit into her account.She got overpaid. I try sort it out 3 weeks ago she say she doesn't have time to check. Now she is ignoring me. the amount is abbot high. I tried get help for free e couldn't have. I got not money to pay lawer. I have no idea what I can do now.

Our Response:
You would have to talk to the housing benefit office directly about this, particularly if she has been overpaid and the money has gone directly from housing benefit into her account. Or, if is a case that she refuses to pay you back so you can clear your overpayment, you may be able to take the matter to the small claims court.
ComplaintExpert - 16-Feb-17 @ 1:50 PM
I'm having problems with my landlady. I receive Housing Benefit into her account. She got overpaid . I try sort it out 3 weeks ago she say she doesn't have time to check . Now she is ignoring me ... the amount is abbot high. I tried get help for free e couldn't have . I got not money to pay lawer . I have no idea what I can do now ...
Aliann - 15-Feb-17 @ 9:56 PM
I am not happy with my land lord,she always complains for nothing i am tired ;->
Govion - 13-Feb-17 @ 9:33 AM
I'm wondering what I can do about the landlord of the property upstairs from my own rented private let. He has recently let it to tenants who work night shift so sleep all day, but he's in there from around 5pm evry nyt till late. Last week it was 1am, 12am and 10.30 for 3 nyts in a row. Hammering, sawing, moving furniture and he has heavy work boots on all the time. I have listened from 5pm tonight again his workboots clattering from room to room and hoovering and furniture being moved!!! How do I go about reporting this inconsiderate idiot, as just a week ago I went and complained about the noise and hea still at it.it's now 9pm on another school nyt and my 10yr old is in bed and my 15yr old who is sitting a prelim in the morning and needing a bit peace to study really and get a good nyts sleep for her exam which I told him already.Sick of it now. This has went on almost evry day and night inc weekends since 8.30am on the 2nd January!!!!No need at all. He can't be allowed to be in there whener he wants surely but he obviously thinks he can!!!
Shaz - 2-Feb-17 @ 9:16 PM
Olliebob - Your Question:
I am renting a house with 6 other tenants and our letting agent, Mrs Davodi, has repeatedly failed to carry out repairs to a tolerable standard. She represents herself as the letting agent working on behalf of her son who is named as the landlord on our tenancy agreement. We have never had any contact with him, we deal solely with her and on occasion her husband. We have been left with inconsistent heating since November. She was informed by Scottish Gas that she would need to replace the boiler and several radiators due to leaks which she insists she can't do until summer. She makes temporary fixes which last for a few days or a week then we are left in the same position. She hires unqualified workmen who carry out shoddy repairs. Every workman has been unable to speak English to a high enough standard that we can communicate freely with them and have a good understanding of the work they have been sent there to do. We have been told repeatedly by Scottish Gas engineers how dangerous the repairs carried out by the unlicensed workmen are. For example, one workman fitted a water valve instead of a gas one to one of our ovens, which a Scottish Gas engineer told us could easily have leaked, something which he explained could potentially be fatal. The leak from our boiler has also repeatedly caused damage to the room below it. The ceiling of this room has caved in several times, leaving my flatmate with damp walls which she had to dry out with an electric heater, something which has impacted our health and standard of living. Not only has it impacted our health but our utility bills are around £1000 higher than they were the same time last year, because the boiler is inefficient and needs to be replaced and we have had to supplement our central heating with electric heating. We don't have enough appliances for the number of people in the house, the ovens break constantly and because of the issues with the heating we often have one shower between 7 people.Dealing with Mrs Davodi has become increasingly frustrating as she contradicts herself or refuses to listen to our concerns. She insists she maintains the house to an appropriate standard, as she does respond when we inform her of problems with the house but these repairs are never lasting and sometimes even endanger those of us living in the house.We have withheld a portion of our rent to cover the cost of our higher bills, something which she has threatened us with eviction over. We are not sure of our position legally or who to contact to ensure the necessary repairs are taken out. There are myriad other issues that I don't have the space to cover in this letter. One being that she fails to give notice when she enters the property, often barging into tenants' rooms without their permission. I would appreciate any advice you could offer as the situation is becoming increasingly stressful.

Our Response:
You can see the options you have regarding how to approach your problem via the link here. I hope this helps.
ComplaintExpert - 1-Feb-17 @ 10:39 AM
I am renting a house with 6 other tenants and our letting agent, Mrs Davodi, has repeatedly failed to carry out repairs to a tolerable standard. She represents herself as the letting agent working on behalf of her son who is named as the landlord on our tenancy agreement.We have never had any contact with him, we deal solely with her and on occasion her husband. We have been left with inconsistent heating since November.She was informed by Scottish Gas that she would need to replace the boiler and several radiators due to leaks which she insists she can't do until summer.She makes temporary fixes which last for a few days or a week then we are left in the same position.She hiresunqualified workmen who carry out shoddy repairs.Every workman has been unable to speak English to a high enough standard that we can communicate freely with them and have a good understanding of the work they have been sent there to do.We have been told repeatedly by Scottish Gas engineers how dangerous the repairs carried out by the unlicensed workmen are. For example, one workman fitted a water valve instead of a gas one to one of our ovens, which a Scottish Gas engineer told us could easily have leaked, something which he explained could potentially be fatal.The leak from our boiler has also repeatedly caused damage to the room below it. The ceiling of this room has caved in several times, leaving my flatmate with damp walls which she had to dry out with an electric heater, something which has impacted our health and standard of living.Not only has it impacted our health but our utility bills are around £1000 higher than they were the same time last year, because the boiler is inefficient and needs to be replaced and we have had to supplement our central heating with electric heating.We don't have enough appliances for the number of people in the house, the ovens break constantly and because of the issues with the heating we often have one shower between 7 people. Dealing with Mrs Davodi has become increasingly frustrating as she contradicts herself or refuses to listen to our concerns.She insists she maintains the house to an appropriate standard, as she does respond when we inform her of problems with the house but these repairs are never lasting and sometimes even endanger those of us living in the house. We have withheld a portion of our rent to cover the cost of our higher bills, something which she has threatened us with eviction over.We are not sure of our position legally or who to contact to ensure the necessary repairs are taken out. There are myriad other issues that I don't have the space to cover in this letter.One being that she fails to give notice when she enters the property, often barging into tenants' rooms without their permission. I would appreciate any advice you could offer as the situation is becoming increasingly stressful.
Olliebob - 31-Jan-17 @ 3:35 PM
Donna - Your Question:
I have had a leak in the ceiling above my stairs on and off for over 8 years now. The council come out and "fix" it, but within a couple of months its back again. The hole in the ceiling is huge, but never been repaired. I constantly report this and have waited up to 2 weeks for it to be fixed (while water is running down my stairs) I have pots underneath but as its on the stairs they are not very big and often overflow during the night. This has resulted in my having to replace my stair carpets 3 times now. I tried to make a claim to the council to refund the costs, but was told I have to claim on my contents insurance. Surely they cant expect me to do this 3 times??? Are they responsible for this as they are not carrying out the work in time and definately not doing it properly.Donna

Our Response:
Please see Shelter link here which tells you how you can complain here. I hope this helps.
ComplaintExpert - 19-Jan-17 @ 1:47 PM
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice...
Title:
(never shown)
Firstname:
(never shown)
Surname:
(never shown)
Email:
(never shown)
Nickname:
(shown)
Comment:
Validate:
Enter word:
Topics
Latest Comments
Further Reading...
Our Most Popular...
Add to my Yahoo!
Add to Google
Stumble this
Add to Twitter
Add To Facebook
RSS feed
You should seek independent professional advice before acting upon any information on the ComplaintExpert website. Please read our Disclaimer.