Home > Regulatory Bodies > Travel and Holiday Regulatory Bodies Complaint

Travel and Holiday Regulatory Bodies Complaint

By: Thomas Muller - Updated: 22 Aug 2018 | comments*Discuss
 
British Travel Agents Abta Association

If all the avenues of complaint with a tour operator or travel agent have been exhausted then the next level to consider is taking to problem to a higher authority.

Many people accept unfair practises and dodgy service as fact of everyday life and have to be pushed over the edge before taking appropriate action. However, the travel sector is an exception to this rule.

Holidays are the one time of the year when we can leave behind all the frustrations of everyday life, so if anything infringes on the good times then it is often a step too far for most people. This explains why the travel industry attracts a particularly high number of complaints.

Trade Associations

Most reputable tour operators and travel agents are members of a trade association, with Association of British Travel Agents (ABTA) and the Association of Independent Tour Operators (AITO) being the largest and most popular. The ABTA operates an arbitration scheme that attempts to resolve complaints between customers and tour operators.

The ABTA or ATOL symbols are a reassuring sign when considering a package holiday, because they mean a customer will be financially protected if the operator goes bust.

ABTA

Approximately 1,900 companies are members of the trade organisation ABTA. In order to qualify they must all be able to provide their customers with detailed advice concerning insurance, visas, health issues and travel plan changes.

When a customer books a holiday with a ABTA-approved travel agent they should be reassured that the company is financially sound, that the descriptions in the brochures are accurate, money can be refunded if the booking is unsatisfactory and that they will never be left stranded overseas for whatever reason.

AITO

The over 160 strong tour operator membership of AITO was expected to demonstrate a high degree of customer service and code of conduct before they were allowed to join the organisation.

This tight control ensures that when a customer purchases a holiday through one its operators they should expect quality, security and professionalism.

Flight Regulation

Holidaymakers travelling to their destination by air are well supplied with flight regulatory bodies.

For instance the Air Transport Users Council (AUC) monitors the airline industry on behalf of consumers, offering advice and support with compensation claims. Whilst the British Airport Authority (BAA) is responsible for the management of seven large UK airports and the British Air Transport Association (BATA) is a non-profit trade association for airlines.

Resolving a Complaint on Holiday

If a complaint relates to botched booking then it should be directed towards the travel agent or whoever made the original booking. If misery is caused by the holiday itself then complaints should be made to the tour operator.

Most tour operator’s terms and conditions specify that a complaint should be registered to the appropriate holiday representative whilst actually on holiday. A large number of complaints are solved at this stage. Holidaymakers are usually aware that if a complaint is lodged upon return it is too late to save the holiday by that point. If a resolution is accepted whilst on the trip then it is usually impossible to reopen the case upon return home.

If a problem arises before the holiday then the travel agent, or booking office, should be informed immediately.

Upon Return

If a complaint has not been sorted out whilst on holiday then the tour operator should be contacted upon return. A claim should be submitted with all the appropriate evidence and travel booking details. The standard length of time allotted for registering a complaint following a holiday is usually around 9 months.

If these local resolution efforts prove futile then the complaint can then be taken up with the appropriate trade association.

Independent Holidays

If the holiday was booked independently, with the aid of a tour operator then any problems should be taken up directly with the company responsible. For example if a hotel room is unacceptable then the complaint should be lodged with the establishment, and as soon as possible.

Time Shares

Complaints about timeshares should firstly be taken up to the head office. If this proves unsatisfactory then the claim can be taken to the Organisation for Timeshare in Europe (OTE), if the company is a member.

Many timeshare resorts in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East are represented by OTE. This organisation offers consumer advice and a free conciliation service for problems between their membership companies and disgruntled customers.

The non-profit organisation Association of Timeshare Owners Committees (TATOC) also represents Timeshare owner interests by promoting high-standards and good relations within the industry.

If the timeshare company is not a member of OTE then the case should be forwarded onto the local Trading Standards office or Citizens Advice Bureau.

You might also like...
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice..
[Add a Comment]
Ryanair cancelled our flight in July with only 30 mins before we were due at the airport. They did not provide a reason. They offered a refund for the flight which we accepted. With no notice, there was no way to reach our destination. We also paid for hire car, accidental car damage and travel insurance through Ryanair. Ryanair took the money for our travel insurance from our bank account after they cancelled our flight and sent no policy details. We are owed £332. We have tried to claim this back but the live chat facility is usually down because so many people are trying to access it and we couldn't get through via phone for over two weeks. The company has requested several documents including proof that Ryanair gave us a reason for cancelling our flight. This is unfair - they didn't provide a reason - that is outside our control. We know it was due to strike action. They have also asked for a cancellation form for the hire car .... this was surely something they should have provided to us, not the other way around! We haven't got access to this. They have never responded at all regarding our travel insurance. Should we now go to our bank and say the travel insurance was erroneous? Should we submit a claim through the small claims court? We ARE getting our money back - I am sick of hearing about Ryanair doing the dirty on people and walking away scott-free with their hard-earned money.
Ruck Fyanair - 22-Aug-18 @ 1:07 PM
Ryanair cancelled our flight in July with only 30 mins before we were due at the airport. They did not provide a reason. They offered a refund for the flight which we accepted. With no notice, there was no way to reach our destination. We also paid for a hire car, accidental car damage and travel insurance through Ryanair. Ryanair took the money for our travel insurance from our bank account after they cancelled our flight and sent no policy details. We are owed £332. We have tried to claim this back but the live chat facility is usually down because so many people are trying get to access it and we couldn't get through via phone for over two weeks. The company has requested several documents including proof that Ryanair gave us a reason for cancelling our flight. This is unfair - they didn't provide a reason. We know it was due to strike action. They have also asked for a cancellation form for the hire car .... this was surely something they should have provided to us, not the other way around! We haven't got access to this. They have never responded at all regarding our travel insurance. Should we now go to our bank and say the travel insurance was erroneous? Should we submit a claim through the small claims court? We ARE getting our money back - I am sick of hearing about Ryanair doing the dirty on people and walking away scott-free with their hard-earned money.
Ruck Fyanair - 22-Aug-18 @ 1:04 PM
My friends advised me to book with TELETEXT HOLIDAYS as they book every year and are "cheaper" (turns out they are £50 more expensive than other online companies) but I went for it. They told me for 3 of us that it was £300 deposit (£100 each but all on my card) and made me type my card details into phone. He even said to me "Please confirm you authorise £300" to which I answered yes...I then get a call 45 minutes later saying that I had successfully PAID IN FULL!! I said no I havent it was £300 to which she said "Ok no worries we will get it refunded and it will be in your account in 3 days"... now I dont know how many people can afford to let £1,581.00 go for 3 days....but I cant. I said I need it back now. They accepted it was a "technical error". I rang my bank to tell of situation and they agreed to put a temporary reversal and give me full money back on the basis they wouldnt claim for it (if they did I would be stuffed). I said, no i have spoken to manager and he said finance department would not claim...I then stupudly paid the deposit again to try and get it straight but 24 hours later THEY DID CLAIM THE MONEY!!! Instead of the full holiday balance of 1581 leaving my account...1851 (300 more than thw actual price) has left my account. I AM NOW £660 OVERDRAWN AND MY BANK CANT DO ANYTHING. I AM IN LONDON IN A T SHIRT AND SHORTS AND CANNOT GET HOME. I CANT BOOK A HOTEL BECAUSE I AM OVERDRAWN AND MY FRIENDS CANT LEND ME MONEY BECAUSE IT WOULD COST THEM £600 TO EVEN GET ME OUT OF MY OVERDRAFT. I AM LITERALLY NOW STUCK UNTIL MONDAY. I WILL MISS AN IMPORTANT BOARD MEETING ON MONDAY IN MY JOB AND MAY EVEN LOSE MY JOB. I WAS SUPPOSED TO GET A CALL FROM MANAGEMENT TONIGHT BUT RECEIVED NONE!!! MY LIFE IS IN QUESTION BECAUSE OF THIS COMPANY. IT MAKES ME LAUGH HOW EVERY NEGATIVE REVIEW IS "PLEASE GET IN TOUCH, WE WANT TO HELP" WHEN I NEEDED HELP TODAY AND THERE WAS NONE. HAVENT MANAGED TO SPEAK TO SOMEONE YET BUT WILL BE TAKING A CLAIM OUT AGAINST THEM AND I URGE YOU TO AVOID!!! HOPEFULLY I GET HOME BUT WILL HOLD TELETEXT PERSONALLY RESPONSIBLE IF I LOSE MY JOB AND CANT FEED MY FAMILY!!! JOKE!!!!! 30/06 - To follow up.on yesterday's events...I am still in London with no means to get home. Still in t shirt and shorts with no place to sleep. I was called today and was told that they would be performing refund of £1,281.00....but will be keeping the £300.00 deposit?!?!?! No compensation, no goodwill gestures, not even £1 off discount offered! Genuinely couldn't care less. Oh and the refund will take 3-4 business days. AVOID!!! I AM NOT STOPING HERE, I AM GOING ALL THE WAY. DISGUSTING TREATMENT
Wiggs - 30-Jun-18 @ 8:37 PM
On May 29th, I had made a booking with Alpharooms to Rixos Sungate Hotel, Turkey between 3-8 July (for 972.22gbp). The reservation has gone through and I received a confirmation mail with the following Itinerary number: 397663550491. On May 30th, I`ve received a second confirmation e-mail from Alpharooms, regarding my booking a day before. On June 1st, I`ve received another e-mail requesting “the flight details and Nationality of the lead guest travelling”. On June 3rd, I have replied to it that I hold a Turkish Passport and will arrive in Istanbul a couple of days earlier so will drive, rather than taking a direct flight. On June 4th, they`ve replied they will confirm back. On June 6th, they`ve sent an e-mail stating the following “We are sorry for the inconvenience, unfortunately hotel not accepting the booking due to nationality is not UK. Kindly request you to please confirm if you wish to cancel the booking”. I wasn’t chasing their e-mails at this point and when I called them back on June 15th and learned about the issue, I called the hotel and they actually did confirm that if I hold a valid UK Residence Permit that wont be an issue. They have also stated, the reservation has never gone through to them and confirmed to me if it did, they will confirm it. I had confirmed this back to Alpharooms, however they kept on telling me the hotel is not accepting, their supplier is not accepting this due to hotel rejecting it. Same day, I had been on the phone with them for hours and even e-mailed them my residence permit. Same day on June 15th, I have received another e-mail from Alpharooms confirming again my reservation! On June 17th, I have received the following e-mail “We can confirm you that, above mentioned booking reference is cancelled, you will received refund in next 5 working days.” Now this is a huge inconvenience as I have planned everything and can not find a similar cost for the dates I d like to be in that hotel.
Goksu - 18-Jun-18 @ 10:06 PM
Totally let down by jet2 holidays and their call centre for Mis selling my all inclusive holiday to la Marisa gavimar hotel 30 mins from Cala d’orI’m a small village (mis sold as advertised and marketed that it is in Cala.d’or but it wasn’t - okay if you have plenty of money for taxis back and forth but if not you’re stuck or you have to be pretty fit to walk a lot - I’m disabled do I got truly stung). The balcony was the main issue we needed to get out pronto like yesterday. I have a 2 year old toddler who would have had a fatal accident as she tried to push her arm through a huge hole at the bottom if the balcony and I luckily pulled her back in!My perception on the hotel is that it has stated in a time warp since it’s birth -70s/80s - all balconies off the ground floor are concreted for safety regulations and are a necessity I don’t understand how this hotel and Jet2 are getting rich on the risk of deaths to toddlers where there is only a metal strip affiixed to a flimsy screw - I made a complaint immediately the next day but it all fell on deaf ears - they did not seem to care they this was a serious danger issue also jet2 adopted delay tactics promising to sort out but 2 days of my one week holiday was in the telephone kiosk at their reception whilst grace eachrl and then Sebastian fed me a bunch of lies. - Belen the rep for Cala d’or who wasn’t even our rep came over and later offered another fully inclusive but for an additional fee if £300!! What a nerve you gave - not only were 2 days of my week ruined but you wanted ME to pay you more money for your disgraceful service!!!Also the food in the restaurant weren’t up to my expectations which is simply variation and edubke sustainable meals - this was not the case the first breakfast was a nightmare the bacon looked like it had missed its sell by date for weeks as it may in a tray white and sickly looking with mottled black and maroon dots in a soggy condition?? Never in my life have I experienced this - also another day a black tikka sooty sauce which had some of meat drowning in it?Do you really think this acceptable no!!!! I am now calling your regilators to haveyou investigated - no one should put il with this.Sebastian was the last team leader I spoke to on my second day of my holiday who promised he would resolve as he said he would want me to be happy and although he would be In holiday thefollowing day but not to worry he would still be at the end of the phone!!!! He wasn’t basically so I left a messsge for Rachel who knew nothing about it - shame on you Your statement package holidays you can trust is so far from the truth shame on you and also the statement that you will not have to hit your wallet - well how do you explain me paying £1300 plus adding another £300 real cost as you were taking off £100 per person do you not think that s holiday for £1600 for just one should be uk to some firm if good expectations - modernised clean hotel with SAFE balconies for ki
Glo - 15-Jun-18 @ 3:00 PM
I bought a return ticket from London to Brazil 27/7 - 18/8 for 1.256.97 I would like to change the dates and I am aware the penalty. But they say it will cost 1.774 more to change Because it is the difference . I could Not believe when she told me so I asked to send an email with the detail, It is 1.774 more. But in their website they have the same flight for the same price on the dates I am need to change available They even did not replay my emails . I do not want a refund I just need to change the dates and be happy to pay the fee that is around £185.
Nina - 16-May-18 @ 10:16 PM
A large number of families from several junior teams of a football club in South Wales independently booked into a Haven caravan park in Weymouth, as they have done for the previous 9 years. This coincides with a football festival taking place outside the park. Haven waited until a week before the festival, then told many of these families with the same or similar postcode that they would be cancelling their holidays (with refunds) as their T&Cs on booking as a group had not been observed. This is too late for many of these families to find alternative accommodation. The football club disputes that this is a group booking nor that T&Cs have been breached because the families are there for a family holiday, do not know each other, may or may not be there for the football festival, and are there for varying stay durations. Haven will not budge. The cost to the club (for prior booking of teams to play in the festival) is likely to be large as teams will now have to be withdrawn. Some families may turn up and be refused entry without refund because of the Haven position. It is not known if families from other locations of the UK have been penalised in any way as this discrimination appears to be motivated by postcode and concern about the number of families coming from the same place. Is this legal and/or ethical? Is there a case for complaint, and if so to whom and from whom? Political representatives are already involved.
Tamping - 28-Apr-18 @ 10:29 AM
@Lpool - you would have to ask for the company's complaints policy and complain directly first. It all hinges on whether there is anything in the terms and conditions of the booking form that we tick without ever reading!
AnaN - 9-Apr-18 @ 1:51 PM
Booked and paid in full what was quoted to me on 2nd August 2017 for trip to Aisa for me and my family in May 2018. Emailed Travelbag advisor for my confirmation.Waited 6 days for confirmation to come through which did on 8th August 2017. I have now been informed there's outstanding bill for £204.88. I've challenged this only to be told by Travelbag that it wasn't booked right away and now there's a increase acured between 6 days I was waiting for my confirmation. Please can someone tell me surly it's Travelbags bill not mine. It's special birthday and I feel it's taking the shine of it. Please please help
Lpool - 7-Apr-18 @ 3:05 PM
Booked a family hoilday had to cancel 2 people of the booking which should of lost just deposit but manchester fort staff were verbal abusive and up the price of the hoilday went asked for evidence on the terms and conditions policy of them being able to do this and not follow the correct procedure of what was on the booking got told the terms and conditions do not matter as staff can just up prices as it suits them i have replied i im sure it is a legal to do this staff just laughed and walked of it is disgrace
Mcgee - 29-Mar-18 @ 8:13 AM
Booked a family hoilday and had to cancel 2 people of it dhiuld of just list depodit but the staff at manchester fort TUIwere not following tje terms and conditions of the policy and charged us mire for are hoikday when asjed to see where it says they could do that the staff said it does not matter what the policy says they can make prices up it is discussing and a legal to do so
Floody - 29-Mar-18 @ 8:06 AM
I booked a cruise with infinity cruises, 1900 hrs 9/918 and paid £1600 deposit to cruise in February 2109. I subsequently found out a close friend had beeen diagnosed with a terminal illness with a max of 12 months (February 2019). I immediately Telephoned infinity cruises and left a voicemail of the circumstances. I also sent amn e mail direct to the booking representative of the circumstances. I have only received an invoic for £1600. I contacted my bank 11/2/18 and the money had not been removed but they were unable to stop the transi. I tele infinity cruises and the refund any refund. I asked to move the booking to a med cruise about October 2018 but was told I had little chance. I have tele infinity cruises several times and on each occasion told I would receive a return call in 20 minutes. None ever received. no it emery has been received, no flights booked as none have been released. This is no was to run a business I would accept an admin charge there attitude and refusal to discuss the situation is astounding.
Biffo - 13-Feb-18 @ 6:17 PM
I booked a holiday with ramsey world travel last year iv used them for 23 year.We told John we wanted a cruise and stay takeing in rome ,he told us about thomson majesty going to rome,florence,sissily and menorca and week stay in alcudia and he recommended plaja dor hotel.We were happy with this so booked there and then and my last words on leaving my seat was we are seeing rome and he said yes.We collected our tickets there was no mention of rome ,spoke to John who said he couldnt remember our booking and would phone thomson to see if they could sort it.Alan the manager phone us back saying thomson would not change it and it was our word against theres and John had bits of paper saying this was what we asked fir!!I was told if i did not go on the holiday we would lose our money so we went under duress.I emailed the owner Colin Ramsey and recieced a letter saying he was sorry we assumed we were going to rome but hoped we came back refreshed .I was shocked at thus attutude so asked for a copy of all the information they had regarding my holiday and got a letter saying The information we have is what we gave you and you gave us ,i emailed again asking him to clarify that they did not have any other information other than what John put in the computor and recieved a letter saying they had nothing to add to there previous letter.I reoported them to abta byt they just keep saying it was what we booked feel like were going round in circles our holiday every year it what we work all year for and to not get what you booked and be treated this way after useing them for 23 years is shocking something has to be done about rravel agents who get it wrong ,i am now seeking legal advuce as i will not let this go so please be careful who you book with and stay away from ramsey world travel .
Timmons - 29-Jan-18 @ 10:06 PM
I have had a number of travel/holiday issues recently. Last November I booked a holiday in India, staying in 4 different centres at different grades of hotel. The hotel agency claimed thet each hotel was of a certain grade and that the provided specified services. On arrival in India, none of the hotels matched claims made and I had to battle at each one to get a cancellation and return of my fees. The booking company was of zero help and took zero responsibility to resolve the many issues. Next I was due to fly to Bali in November. Due to the Volcano the flights were cancelled so I could not go. I had to fight to get my money back from the hotel and I am still waiting to get my money back from the Airline/booking agency 8 weeks later. The online booking agency for the flights and the hotel have provided little assistance and claim no responsibility to support or chase the return of Thousands of pounds. Next, due to on line error messages I accidentally booked the same hotel twice in Turkey, the booking agency says they have to get the hotels permission to refund my money because it is a non refundable booking. They took the booking and they took the money but it is the hotels responsibility to agree to the refund!! It is incredibly frustrating trying to get these booking agencies to take responsibility and it leaves you thousands of pounds out of pocket while they take months to return what they took seconds to take from you. The call center staff try to be pleasant but they can do nothing when the companies are not being forced to deliver good customer service because they already have your money and they simply don't care if you never book with them again. For reasons similar to those above I will never book with the following companies - Frontier Airlines, Last Minute dot com, Booking dot com, STA travel Manchester, AMOMA, Travel Republic and Secret Escapes. They simply don't care.
cannaman - 26-Jan-18 @ 9:22 AM
My self and my partner recently booked a 10 night holiday with love holidays flying out to Almeria with Monarch 14/09/17 and flying home to Gatwick 24/09/17. When booking our holiday at the Barcelo Caba de Gata. We spent weeks searching for the perfect holiday to suit us after a very bad run over the last few years and wanted everything to be just right bearing in mind that my partner has a back condition following a road traffic accident in his work vehicle. For this reason before booking our stay at the Barcelo hotel we looked into the hotel in plenty of detail checking reviews and location and so on. When booking the trip as far as we were aware everything was correct and the booking had the correct name and the dates were correct so as far as we were concerned we were heading to our perfect holiday destination. When arriving in Almeria however, this completely changed and very quickly became a nightmare in a country we could not speak the language to get any help. When we arrived at the airport there was an issue in finding our transfer. A Spanish gentlemen who spoke no English at all looked at our paperwork and then kept pointing to a seating area we assumed to wait for our driver. Around half an hour later another gentleman turned up who also spoke not a word of English and was pointing as we assumed to head for the mini bus to take us to our hotel. Once aboard the mini bus the drive was quite pleasant and also quite quick and we soon saw the Barcelo in front of us to which we became very excited as it looked exactly as it did in the pictures and we were heading for our dream holiday. However as we approached the Barcelo the driver drove straight past. We assumed maybe the driver was dropping off others and dropping us at the Barcelo on the way back. This did not happen and the driver stopped outside the Cabo de gata shouting the hotel name. We did not move as this was not the hotel that we had booked. The driver then approached us pointing at us and pointing at the hotel saying Cabo de gata. We kept saying this is not our hotel however the driver proceeded to get out cases out of the hold and got back on his mini bus and drove off. We were not even taken into the hotel gates just left on an empty waste land with cars parked on it not having a clue where we were. We dragged our suitcases through the gates and up through the car park to the front of the hotel. When entering the hotel we were trying to explain what had happened but again the reception staff spoken very minimal English and did not understand what we were saying. The only part we did get is that they were trying to say we were booked at this hotel. As you can imagine by this point I was very very upset. This hotel was most definitely not what we had booked and most definitely not what we had hoped for. We made our way to the room we were designated very upset, very deflated and not knowing what to do with no one speaking enough English to help us. At this point I searched
Natalie - 24-Jan-18 @ 6:25 PM
Booked Holiday to Cuba with Thomsons paid final bill with credit card.Holiday was so bad Thomson are not going next year.Said on line New Hotel, was actually 8 years old. Booked junior suite with king size bed, shower, mini bar and tea coffee facilities. Ended up with small dirty room, 2 single beds, fridge that was never stocked and dirty.No snack bars, hotel ran out of water and soft drinks. Restaurant food was disgusting and not edible.Cockroaches running over food and all over restaurant. Dirty plates and food left there at night and cleared in morning. Restaurant was dirty, glass on floor, not cleaned properly.Safety wasn't there, no cordoned off area on beach so boats would come in whizzing past you. Golf carts were same on path did not stop expecting you to jump off path. All outside toilets locked. Rep from Thomsons was useless.Complained to Thomsons 2 recorded delivery letters and pictures proving things.3 emails to different people as well as pictures.No response.Went to Abta all I was offered was £138 voucher and letters saying yes they did have problems but that was their last response.Abta have said to go to arbitration and court but this will cost. What else can I do.The holiday was in May this year.
Holly - 30-Nov-17 @ 5:16 PM
I booked a holiday via sun master was thrown out the hotel with my mum and disabled daughter, due to a complaint that had been addressed to the manager, called sunmaster was told all sorts then given a number to a gentle men at 12pm spoke to him, told him that we been thrown out, he said he would call back gave him the number that he would be able to contact us a turkcell Number he relayed the number back to me never called backI informed sunmaster of the problem we had to get return flightsnext day at 3:45 am and not a call from any body, not taking in to consideration we were in a foreign country wouldn’t no if we were in any danger. back to the uk that cost us additional £257 not only we paid for half board transfers and flights previously totalling £2119.00 so it cost us now 2276.00 in total for a two week holiday which lasted for 3days and now offered a refund of apparently 50% of hotel fee which is now 258.00 been chasing this complaint for 4 months to be told different things one after another. I’ve believe sunmaster to my opinion is not a reliable source to ever purchase another holiday for me.
Chan - 15-Nov-17 @ 5:46 PM
Lilypops24 - Your Question:
My son who is 17 booked a holiday with sun master for next June , according to their terms and conditions and that of the airline ( Thomas cook ) the person booking must be 18 , but they can book with permission from me , I’ve contacted sunmaster and they say they are able to do that because he’s 18 when he travel , I don’t believe this is the case and they have manipulated a minor ,I’m looking for full refund and it’s up to Thomas cook because they have the money for the flights , what can I do

Our Response:
Thomas Cook and most travel companies will not accept bookings online unless a passenger is 18 years or over. If a booking is allowed by an individual under 18, it has to be made an agent either in store or over the phone and the parents/legal guardians must provide written authority and sign the booking form in the presence of a travel agent. They may also need to show their passport to enable the agent to verify names/signatures. You would have to make a written complaint directly to the company in the first instance. If you request the company's complaints procedure, you will be given this.
ComplaintExpert - 19-Oct-17 @ 1:49 PM
My son who is 17 booked a holiday with sun master for next June , according to their terms and conditions and that of the airline ( Thomas cook ) the person booking must be 18 , but they can book with permission from me , I’ve contacted sunmaster and they say they are able to do that because he’s 18 when he travel , I don’t believe this is the case and they have manipulated a minor ,I’m looking for full refund and it’s up to Thomas cook because they have the money for the flights , what can I do
Lilypops24 - 18-Oct-17 @ 6:55 PM
I booked a package with Thomson for half-board and had not been picked up for onward travel when the hotel refused me my last evening meal. I had checked out of my room but still had a keycard for the hotel gate the hotel provided me. Everyone else in other hotels on the same pickup time received their meal. Although I was thoroughly annoyed at what seemed a breach ofcontract (Thomson hadnot paid for my final meal) the rep said he didnot have any formal complaint forms so I wrote mycomplaint on a rough piece of paper advising I would be claimingcompensation ( the hotel took the plate of food out ofmy hand etc). Thomson then performed a criminal act by sending me an email saying I had signed that I was happy to receiveno compensation etc. I did put a squiggle on the reps ipad as he told me he had immediately complained to Head Office but could not send me a copy without my signing the pad to accept emails from him. Unfortunately for the rep this was not my actual signature and I had not been shown anything else other than the signature bit to receive emails and so it was obvious to me he had acted illegally 'fraud in deceit' in view of this. Some weeks later I am not bothered about the meal or the £15 lost but I don't feel Thomson should be allowed to get away with illegal fraudulent behaviour and wish to complain so they are reprimanded and cannot do this to another person in more difficult circumstances. Please advise the name of the travel body who oversee Thomsonthat I can make a serious complaint to. I have written to Thomson without success.
Jilly - 3-Sep-17 @ 1:39 PM
I recently book a ticket to Mauritius for myself and my daughter via a travel agent. Copies of passport we're given to them I noticed at first they had missed a letter in my middle name and ask them to rectify the error. Which they did. What I was not aware of until I was on the phone with emirates was that the travel agent abbreviated the middle name of my daughter but had first name and surname correct. Note that from Friday 28.07.17 until 01.08.17 I have spoken in total to 6staff members of emirates (4on Friday 2last night)all of them confirmed that the way it was written i.e.(first name+abbreviation of middle name+surname) was INCORRECT except that last person I spoke with yesterday who confirmed that this is Aldo acceptable. I have been arguing with my travel agent since Friday to resolve this and as per emirates first 5 response was to only put (first name +surname) and do not put middle Name. And my travel agent was adament that he has been abbreviating middle names for various other customers and have not had any problem. In fact one of the emirates staff who works within the ticket and reservation team asked me to get the travel agent to put in writing "if any issue we're to happen at check in that he (travel agent) will take full responsibility inc.Financial cost that come with it" Information that I passed on to the travel agent but he told me that he was Also in communication with emirates and they (emirates confirm that the way he had put the names on the ticket is correct) Only last night as per above 1emirates staff confirm that this is also correct but what they couldn't give me is written confirmation of this. I am looking for assurance that the way the travel agent has got my daughter's name written is correct as described by himself and now verbally agreed by emirates. This still doesn't give me peace of mind because 5 other staff member of emirates has said the opposite. Many thanks TM
Tariq - 2-Aug-17 @ 11:25 PM
Hi I had holiday booked through sunmaster. 1 week before I was due to fly I broke my ankle and had surgery which resulted in 2 plates and 13 screws. I was told my doctor I could not fly. I contacted sunmaster, they said I could change my holiday but due to me needing to change to august it would cost me double what i already paid. I had already paid £900.00. Then told by Thomas cook who was the airline that I could get full refund for flight, then told this was wrong advice given by there customer service advisor. Sunmaster then said I could change flights to someone else's names but I had to find someone within the next 2 days.i was left with no other option but to loose the holiday. Can I claim?
Kayls - 24-Jul-17 @ 3:19 PM
Please can someone advise? We booked a villa only holiday with a well known villa company and had our holiday in June. On arrival it was clear the accommodation was substandard with damp running down a bedroom wall, an exposed electrical feed , pool steps that were not secured and fell into the pool! These are few of the issues we faced. I complained in resort and was visited twice by three different reps who were visibly horrified and some of the issues, whoorganised some repairs whilst we were there. I took photographs and sent a full complaint on our return home. They have since responded but without acknowledging any of the specific problems that we identified. They also offered us a voucher ( a very small percentage of the cost of the villa, in fact probably not enough for a small deposit on another holiday ) . I have just emailed my response to that explaining we are not accepting it. So what I'm wondering is how long do I have to wait for a response again ? Is it another 28 days? Also how can I take it further if we aren't satisfied with the awaited reponse?
Al - 24-Jul-17 @ 12:08 PM
We're due to travel in August after r flight time been changed twice got a letter this morning say the hotel next to the 1 we booked is closed an getting refurbished an the will be a lot of noise an drilling they said we could change r hotel but the ones they said to look at r either fully booked or £2000 pound more could I get s full refund an book with someone else .
Smithy - 30-Jun-17 @ 8:09 PM
Sammie - Your Question:
**Needing Advice** Hello, my name is Sammie. I was scheduled to fly to South Africa this Thursday to attend a volunteer wildlife program for one month which I had laid in full last month. Unfortunately, I have been taken ill and I have been hospitalised, therefore I will not be able to go. I requested a refund as I am not fit to fly or work with wildlife and I am in hospital. They company informed me that unfortunately their cancellation policy is 30 days prior, and that I would not receive a refund. I paid $2,299.00 for this program and I do not agree that they will not refund me my full amount as it is my money and I was not expecting to be hospitalised before the program. After the manager spoke with the owner, they were willing to give me 25% back. I refused as I do not agree with this given the circumstances. I expect a FULL refund as this is my money and it is not my fault that I was taken ill. Is there anyone who can help me?Thank you ! Sammie

Our Response:
I am sorry to hear this. You would have to read the terms and conditions attached to your booking, which will detail what you can and cannot claim with regards to applying for a refund.I imagine that any exceptions to the terms are considered on a case-by-case basis at the discretion of the tour operator. If you have sent proof of you being hospitalised and the tour provider still refuses to refund you, then you would have to follow their complaints procedure or take the matter to a travel complaint body/ombudsman of your country. We are a UK-based site and therefore you would have to research your own country's regulatory body of complaint. We wish you a speedy recovery and we hope you are able to get this matter sorted.
ComplaintExpert - 29-Jun-17 @ 10:16 AM
**Needing Advice** Hello, my name is Sammie. I was scheduled to fly to South Africa this Thursday to attend a volunteer wildlife program for one month which I had laid in full last month. Unfortunately, I have been taken ill and I have been hospitalised, therefore I will not be able to go. I requested a refund as I am not fit to fly or work with wildlife and I am in hospital. They company informed me that unfortunately their cancellation policy is 30 days prior, and that I would not receive a refund. I paid $2,299.00 for this program and I do not agree that they will not refund me my full amount as it is my money and I was not expecting to be hospitalised before the program. After the manager spoke with the owner, they were willing to give me 25% back. I refused as I do not agree with this given the circumstances. I expect a FULL refund as this is my money and it is not my fault that I was taken ill. Is there anyone who can help me? Thank you ! Sammie
Sammie - 27-Jun-17 @ 10:40 AM
I booked a holiday with Air Travel agency in February 2017, due to travel in August, a family of five.I paid a deposit of £100.00. The trip in total cost £3750.00. I was told I could pay bit by bit and the final amount to be paid a week before traveling. However from beginning of may I started receiving numerous riminder, threatening an increase in fares and demanding final payment. We communicated through emails and finally I decided to pay the outstanding amount of £3680.00, on the 29th of May 2017, although I had initially stated that I'll make payment on the 30th. The following day around mid dayI rang the travel agent to inform them of the payment. I was met with a cold tone and hostility, I was questioned why I used that account, why I paid a day earlier than my promised date and told the accountwas closed. I was told a change of account number was sent to me. Upon checking my emails, I noticed the email was sent after I had made payment. Why were the changes not communicated in all their correspondence. To cut the long story short, I'm still waiting for the outcome from the bank, as there are carrying out investigations. This I do know, if the account was closed then my payment should have bounced back. I would advise travellers to book direct. This is my first time to use a travel agent and the last. Never will I fall victim to these scammers.
Ngela - 8-Jun-17 @ 1:52 PM
360ttaylor - Your Question:
Me, my wife and son visited the Sensatori hotel with Thomson holidays during April 2017 and have to say was very pleasantly surprised with the location and hotel. I agree with the majority of reviews on here that the restaurants, pool and facilities were all excellent. The people were most pleasant and generally could not do enough to help.My complaint (subject to legal proceedings against Thomson so will keep out some of the details) surrounds the covert entering of the security guards into your room (caught red handed) and taking wholly inexcusable photographs of your personal belongings including inappropriate items. We obtained copies of the photos that were taken (more than one occasion) and subsequently found out that it was hotel policy for this practice to occur. The hotel and Thomson did not believe this to be a gross invasion of privacy and believe that taking covert, inappropriate photos of guests possessions to be a significant issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you visit this or any other Sensatori hotel be very aware of what you leave visible in your room as it is hotel and Thomson policy to take photos, print these out, file them and review when they feel appropriate. I travel the world for business and stop is far too many hotels and have never heard of such an absurd 'policy' and await further comment to my formal complaint / case issued against Thomson.How do you get Thomson to acknowledge / respond to a complaint as it has been radio silence!!

Our Response:
Have you tried Resolver? Please see link here.
ComplaintExpert - 24-May-17 @ 10:04 AM
Me, my wife and son visited the Sensatori hotel with Thomson holidays during April 2017 and have to say was very pleasantly surprised with the location and hotel. I agree with the majority of reviews on here that the restaurants, pool and facilities were all excellent. The people were most pleasant and generally could not do enough to help. My complaint (subject to legal proceedings against Thomson so will keep out some of the details) surrounds the covert entering of the security guards into your room (caught red handed) and taking wholly inexcusable photographs of your personal belongings including inappropriate items. We obtained copies of the photos that were taken (more than one occasion) and subsequently found out that it was hotel policy for this practice to occur. The hotel and Thomson did not believe this to be a gross invasion of privacy and believe that taking covert, inappropriate photos of guests possessions to be a significant issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you visit this or any other Sensatori hotel be very aware of what you leave visible in your room as it is hotel and Thomson policy to take photos, print these out, file them and review when they feel appropriate. I travel the world for business and stop is far too many hotels and have never heard of such an absurd 'policy' and await further comment to my formal complaint / case issued against Thomson. How do you get Thomson to acknowledge / respond to a complaint as it has been radio silence!!
360ttaylor - 23-May-17 @ 8:26 AM
Hi please help, I booked holiday with sunmaster, did not take out insurance as normally would take this out nearer to holiday. Im due to fly this sunday however unfortunately i broke my ankle, had surgery to pin the ankle. Doctor has said i am not able to fly. Sunmaster gave option of changin holiday but would need to go in next 3 month which we could not do due to work comitments. They would not allow us to change to a suitable date for us and would not allow a retund. Now lost 900 pounf is there anything i can do yo get some of this money back
Kayleigh - 17-May-17 @ 6:35 AM
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice...
Title:
(never shown)
Firstname:
(never shown)
Surname:
(never shown)
Email:
(never shown)
Nickname:
(shown)
Comment:
Validate:
Enter word:
Topics
Latest Comments