Home > Regulatory Bodies > Travel and Holiday Regulatory Bodies Complaint

Travel and Holiday Regulatory Bodies Complaint

By: Thomas Muller - Updated: 18 Oct 2017 | comments*Discuss
 
British Travel Agents Abta Association

If all the avenues of complaint with a tour operator or travel agent have been exhausted then the next level to consider is taking to problem to a higher authority.

Many people accept unfair practises and dodgy service as fact of everyday life and have to be pushed over the edge before taking appropriate action. However, the travel sector is an exception to this rule.

Holidays are the one time of the year when we can leave behind all the frustrations of everyday life, so if anything infringes on the good times then it is often a step too far for most people. This explains why the travel industry attracts a particularly high number of complaints.

Trade Associations

Most reputable tour operators and travel agents are members of a trade association, with Association of British Travel Agents (ABTA) and the Association of Independent Tour Operators (AITO) being the largest and most popular. The ABTA operates an arbitration scheme that attempts to resolve complaints between customers and tour operators.

The ABTA or ATOL symbols are a reassuring sign when considering a package holiday, because they mean a customer will be financially protected if the operator goes bust.

ABTA

Approximately 1,900 companies are members of the trade organisation ABTA. In order to qualify they must all be able to provide their customers with detailed advice concerning insurance, visas, health issues and travel plan changes.

When a customer books a holiday with a ABTA-approved travel agent they should be reassured that the company is financially sound, that the descriptions in the brochures are accurate, money can be refunded if the booking is unsatisfactory and that they will never be left stranded overseas for whatever reason.

AITO

The over 160 strong tour operator membership of AITO was expected to demonstrate a high degree of customer service and code of conduct before they were allowed to join the organisation.

This tight control ensures that when a customer purchases a holiday through one its operators they should expect quality, security and professionalism.

Flight Regulation

Holidaymakers travelling to their destination by air are well supplied with flight regulatory bodies.

For instance the Air Transport Users Council (AUC) monitors the airline industry on behalf of consumers, offering advice and support with compensation claims. Whilst the British Airport Authority (BAA) is responsible for the management of seven large UK airports and the British Air Transport Association (BATA) is a non-profit trade association for airlines.

Resolving a Complaint on Holiday

If a complaint relates to botched booking then it should be directed towards the travel agent or whoever made the original booking. If misery is caused by the holiday itself then complaints should be made to the tour operator.

Most tour operator’s terms and conditions specify that a complaint should be registered to the appropriate holiday representative whilst actually on holiday. A large number of complaints are solved at this stage. Holidaymakers are usually aware that if a complaint is lodged upon return it is too late to save the holiday by that point. If a resolution is accepted whilst on the trip then it is usually impossible to reopen the case upon return home.

If a problem arises before the holiday then the travel agent, or booking office, should be informed immediately.

Upon Return

If a complaint has not been sorted out whilst on holiday then the tour operator should be contacted upon return. A claim should be submitted with all the appropriate evidence and travel booking details. The standard length of time allotted for registering a complaint following a holiday is usually around 9 months.

If these local resolution efforts prove futile then the complaint can then be taken up with the appropriate trade association.

Independent Holidays

If the holiday was booked independently, with the aid of a tour operator then any problems should be taken up directly with the company responsible. For example if a hotel room is unacceptable then the complaint should be lodged with the establishment, and as soon as possible.

Time Shares

Complaints about timeshares should firstly be taken up to the head office. If this proves unsatisfactory then the claim can be taken to the Organisation for Timeshare in Europe (OTE), if the company is a member.

Many timeshare resorts in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East are represented by OTE. This organisation offers consumer advice and a free conciliation service for problems between their membership companies and disgruntled customers.

The non-profit organisation Association of Timeshare Owners Committees (TATOC) also represents Timeshare owner interests by promoting high-standards and good relations within the industry.

If the timeshare company is not a member of OTE then the case should be forwarded onto the local Trading Standards office or Citizens Advice Bureau.

You might also like...
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice..
[Add a Comment]
My son who is 17 booked a holiday with sun master for next June , according to their terms and conditions and that of the airline ( Thomas cook ) the person booking must be 18 , but they can book with permission from me , I’ve contacted sunmaster and they say they are able to do that because he’s 18 when he travel , I don’t believe this is the case and they have manipulated a minor ,I’m looking for full refund and it’s up to Thomas cook because they have the money for the flights , what can I do
Lilypops24 - 18-Oct-17 @ 6:55 PM
I booked a package with Thomson for half-board and had not been picked up for onward travel when the hotel refused me my last evening meal. I had checked out of my room but still had a keycard for the hotel gate the hotel provided me. Everyone else in other hotels on the same pickup time received their meal. Although I was thoroughly annoyed at what seemed a breach ofcontract (Thomson hadnot paid for my final meal) the rep said he didnot have any formal complaint forms so I wrote mycomplaint on a rough piece of paper advising I would be claimingcompensation ( the hotel took the plate of food out ofmy hand etc). Thomson then performed a criminal act by sending me an email saying I had signed that I was happy to receiveno compensation etc. I did put a squiggle on the reps ipad as he told me he had immediately complained to Head Office but could not send me a copy without my signing the pad to accept emails from him. Unfortunately for the rep this was not my actual signature and I had not been shown anything else other than the signature bit to receive emails and so it was obvious to me he had acted illegally 'fraud in deceit' in view of this. Some weeks later I am not bothered about the meal or the £15 lost but I don't feel Thomson should be allowed to get away with illegal fraudulent behaviour and wish to complain so they are reprimanded and cannot do this to another person in more difficult circumstances. Please advise the name of the travel body who oversee Thomsonthat I can make a serious complaint to. I have written to Thomson without success.
Jilly - 3-Sep-17 @ 1:39 PM
I recently book a ticket to Mauritius for myself and my daughter via a travel agent. Copies of passport we're given to them I noticed at first they had missed a letter in my middle name and ask them to rectify the error. Which they did. What I was not aware of until I was on the phone with emirates was that the travel agent abbreviated the middle name of my daughter but had first name and surname correct. Note that from Friday 28.07.17 until 01.08.17 I have spoken in total to 6staff members of emirates (4on Friday 2last night)all of them confirmed that the way it was written i.e.(first name+abbreviation of middle name+surname) was INCORRECT except that last person I spoke with yesterday who confirmed that this is Aldo acceptable. I have been arguing with my travel agent since Friday to resolve this and as per emirates first 5 response was to only put (first name +surname) and do not put middle Name. And my travel agent was adament that he has been abbreviating middle names for various other customers and have not had any problem. In fact one of the emirates staff who works within the ticket and reservation team asked me to get the travel agent to put in writing "if any issue we're to happen at check in that he (travel agent) will take full responsibility inc.Financial cost that come with it" Information that I passed on to the travel agent but he told me that he was Also in communication with emirates and they (emirates confirm that the way he had put the names on the ticket is correct) Only last night as per above 1emirates staff confirm that this is also correct but what they couldn't give me is written confirmation of this. I am looking for assurance that the way the travel agent has got my daughter's name written is correct as described by himself and now verbally agreed by emirates. This still doesn't give me peace of mind because 5 other staff member of emirates has said the opposite. Many thanks TM
Tariq - 2-Aug-17 @ 11:25 PM
Hi I had holiday booked through sunmaster. 1 week before I was due to fly I broke my ankle and had surgery which resulted in 2 plates and 13 screws. I was told my doctor I could not fly. I contacted sunmaster, they said I could change my holiday but due to me needing to change to august it would cost me double what i already paid. I had already paid £900.00. Then told by Thomas cook who was the airline that I could get full refund for flight, then told this was wrong advice given by there customer service advisor. Sunmaster then said I could change flights to someone else's names but I had to find someone within the next 2 days.i was left with no other option but to loose the holiday. Can I claim?
Kayls - 24-Jul-17 @ 3:19 PM
Please can someone advise? We booked a villa only holiday with a well known villa company and had our holiday in June. On arrival it was clear the accommodation was substandard with damp running down a bedroom wall, an exposed electrical feed , pool steps that were not secured and fell into the pool! These are few of the issues we faced. I complained in resort and was visited twice by three different reps who were visibly horrified and some of the issues, whoorganised some repairs whilst we were there. I took photographs and sent a full complaint on our return home. They have since responded but without acknowledging any of the specific problems that we identified. They also offered us a voucher ( a very small percentage of the cost of the villa, in fact probably not enough for a small deposit on another holiday ) . I have just emailed my response to that explaining we are not accepting it. So what I'm wondering is how long do I have to wait for a response again ? Is it another 28 days? Also how can I take it further if we aren't satisfied with the awaited reponse?
Al - 24-Jul-17 @ 12:08 PM
We're due to travel in August after r flight time been changed twice got a letter this morning say the hotel next to the 1 we booked is closed an getting refurbished an the will be a lot of noise an drilling they said we could change r hotel but the ones they said to look at r either fully booked or £2000 pound more could I get s full refund an book with someone else .
Smithy - 30-Jun-17 @ 8:09 PM
Sammie - Your Question:
**Needing Advice** Hello, my name is Sammie. I was scheduled to fly to South Africa this Thursday to attend a volunteer wildlife program for one month which I had laid in full last month. Unfortunately, I have been taken ill and I have been hospitalised, therefore I will not be able to go. I requested a refund as I am not fit to fly or work with wildlife and I am in hospital. They company informed me that unfortunately their cancellation policy is 30 days prior, and that I would not receive a refund. I paid $2,299.00 for this program and I do not agree that they will not refund me my full amount as it is my money and I was not expecting to be hospitalised before the program. After the manager spoke with the owner, they were willing to give me 25% back. I refused as I do not agree with this given the circumstances. I expect a FULL refund as this is my money and it is not my fault that I was taken ill. Is there anyone who can help me?Thank you ! Sammie

Our Response:
I am sorry to hear this. You would have to read the terms and conditions attached to your booking, which will detail what you can and cannot claim with regards to applying for a refund.I imagine that any exceptions to the terms are considered on a case-by-case basis at the discretion of the tour operator. If you have sent proof of you being hospitalised and the tour provider still refuses to refund you, then you would have to follow their complaints procedure or take the matter to a travel complaint body/ombudsman of your country. We are a UK-based site and therefore you would have to research your own country's regulatory body of complaint. We wish you a speedy recovery and we hope you are able to get this matter sorted.
ComplaintExpert - 29-Jun-17 @ 10:16 AM
**Needing Advice** Hello, my name is Sammie. I was scheduled to fly to South Africa this Thursday to attend a volunteer wildlife program for one month which I had laid in full last month. Unfortunately, I have been taken ill and I have been hospitalised, therefore I will not be able to go. I requested a refund as I am not fit to fly or work with wildlife and I am in hospital. They company informed me that unfortunately their cancellation policy is 30 days prior, and that I would not receive a refund. I paid $2,299.00 for this program and I do not agree that they will not refund me my full amount as it is my money and I was not expecting to be hospitalised before the program. After the manager spoke with the owner, they were willing to give me 25% back. I refused as I do not agree with this given the circumstances. I expect a FULL refund as this is my money and it is not my fault that I was taken ill. Is there anyone who can help me? Thank you ! Sammie
Sammie - 27-Jun-17 @ 10:40 AM
I booked a holiday with Air Travel agency in February 2017, due to travel in August, a family of five.I paid a deposit of £100.00. The trip in total cost £3750.00. I was told I could pay bit by bit and the final amount to be paid a week before traveling. However from beginning of may I started receiving numerous riminder, threatening an increase in fares and demanding final payment. We communicated through emails and finally I decided to pay the outstanding amount of £3680.00, on the 29th of May 2017, although I had initially stated that I'll make payment on the 30th. The following day around mid dayI rang the travel agent to inform them of the payment. I was met with a cold tone and hostility, I was questioned why I used that account, why I paid a day earlier than my promised date and told the accountwas closed. I was told a change of account number was sent to me. Upon checking my emails, I noticed the email was sent after I had made payment. Why were the changes not communicated in all their correspondence. To cut the long story short, I'm still waiting for the outcome from the bank, as there are carrying out investigations. This I do know, if the account was closed then my payment should have bounced back. I would advise travellers to book direct. This is my first time to use a travel agent and the last. Never will I fall victim to these scammers.
Ngela - 8-Jun-17 @ 1:52 PM
360ttaylor - Your Question:
Me, my wife and son visited the Sensatori hotel with Thomson holidays during April 2017 and have to say was very pleasantly surprised with the location and hotel. I agree with the majority of reviews on here that the restaurants, pool and facilities were all excellent. The people were most pleasant and generally could not do enough to help.My complaint (subject to legal proceedings against Thomson so will keep out some of the details) surrounds the covert entering of the security guards into your room (caught red handed) and taking wholly inexcusable photographs of your personal belongings including inappropriate items. We obtained copies of the photos that were taken (more than one occasion) and subsequently found out that it was hotel policy for this practice to occur. The hotel and Thomson did not believe this to be a gross invasion of privacy and believe that taking covert, inappropriate photos of guests possessions to be a significant issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you visit this or any other Sensatori hotel be very aware of what you leave visible in your room as it is hotel and Thomson policy to take photos, print these out, file them and review when they feel appropriate. I travel the world for business and stop is far too many hotels and have never heard of such an absurd 'policy' and await further comment to my formal complaint / case issued against Thomson.How do you get Thomson to acknowledge / respond to a complaint as it has been radio silence!!

Our Response:
Have you tried Resolver? Please see link here.
ComplaintExpert - 24-May-17 @ 10:04 AM
Me, my wife and son visited the Sensatori hotel with Thomson holidays during April 2017 and have to say was very pleasantly surprised with the location and hotel. I agree with the majority of reviews on here that the restaurants, pool and facilities were all excellent. The people were most pleasant and generally could not do enough to help. My complaint (subject to legal proceedings against Thomson so will keep out some of the details) surrounds the covert entering of the security guards into your room (caught red handed) and taking wholly inexcusable photographs of your personal belongings including inappropriate items. We obtained copies of the photos that were taken (more than one occasion) and subsequently found out that it was hotel policy for this practice to occur. The hotel and Thomson did not believe this to be a gross invasion of privacy and believe that taking covert, inappropriate photos of guests possessions to be a significant issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you visit this or any other Sensatori hotel be very aware of what you leave visible in your room as it is hotel and Thomson policy to take photos, print these out, file them and review when they feel appropriate. I travel the world for business and stop is far too many hotels and have never heard of such an absurd 'policy' and await further comment to my formal complaint / case issued against Thomson. How do you get Thomson to acknowledge / respond to a complaint as it has been radio silence!!
360ttaylor - 23-May-17 @ 8:26 AM
Hi please help, I booked holiday with sunmaster, did not take out insurance as normally would take this out nearer to holiday. Im due to fly this sunday however unfortunately i broke my ankle, had surgery to pin the ankle. Doctor has said i am not able to fly. Sunmaster gave option of changin holiday but would need to go in next 3 month which we could not do due to work comitments. They would not allow us to change to a suitable date for us and would not allow a retund. Now lost 900 pounf is there anything i can do yo get some of this money back
Kayleigh - 17-May-17 @ 6:35 AM
Hi I've booked a holiday with virgin, we went into store explained what places were of interest and possibly a cruise. The agent got all excited and said omg them places are amazing telling us all things we can do when there and said the cruise will be amazing way of travelling them places. So with her advice and pressure into booking it as the rooms may go as there's not many left we paid the holiday. Later to go home to look at shore excursions like she said and to find we can't do anything but walking tours as the cruise ships dock too far away from meeting points for excursions so we will never be back in time for the departure. This is the same problem with all bar one island. The cruise ship she assured us was amazing it's with celebrity so will be really good. Later to find out it's their oldest ship and really dated and worn. I feel we have grisly been miss sold a holiday of a life time. At £5700 I feel this is a lot to pay out for something not advertised. How do I go about this???? Help??? X
Nats - 11-May-17 @ 12:00 PM
Hi I've booked a holiday with virgin, we went into store explained what places were of interest and possibly a cruise. The agent got all excited and said omg them places are amazing telling us all things we can do when there and said the cruise will be amazing way of travelling them places. So with her advice and pressure into booking it as the rooms may go as there's not many left we paid the holiday. Later to go home to look at shore excursions like she said and to find we can't do anything but walking tours as the cruise ships dock too far away from meeting points for excursions so we will never be back in time for the departure. This is the same problem with all bar one island. The cruise ship she assured us was amazing it's with celebrity so will be really good. Later to find out it's their oldest ship and really dated and worn. I feel we have grisly been miss sold a holiday of a life time. At £5700 I feel this is a lot to pay out for something not advertised. How do I go about this???? Help??? X
Nats - 11-May-17 @ 9:43 AM
Booked a week in hotel through alpharooms paid 140£ deposit needed to change date incurred £30 charge fair enough the remainder of my deposit then vanished from my account after 9 phone calls my deposit reappeared but it was minus another £30 they admit it is missing but seem incapable or reluctant to fix it.all there customer services is in India they do not seem to care or know I would like to know how I can get some action I do not know if my booking is confirmed or notJohn
Johnny - 5-May-17 @ 10:03 PM
Please can Bee let me know the number of the organisation, I think I have given them a deposit for a flight I am taking next week- ??
Ab - 3-May-17 @ 8:52 PM
My son and his girlfriend have booked a 2 week holiday to Tenerife middle of July 2017, £1200 each for a 4* hotel. The holiday company have just emailed to say there will be refurbishments going on when they are there, quite a bit. Rang the travel company up and they don't see what the problem is. When my son pointed out about noise , the fact a restaurant will be closed rooms being refurbished etc, the other dining area surely will be over crowded, they are justnot interested . If they want to cancel they will lose their deposit and have to pay a cancellation fee as well. How can this be right, surely they should be given the option to change hotels. All the women on the end of the phone could say is well it's a big hotel you might not even see any of the work. Rubbish customer service, take your money and are not interested in after care. Is there anything they can do? You work hard for your holiday and now they are totally regretting booking. Feel sorry for others who are booking that hotel as they haven't put anything on the page to say under refurbishment and they know about it. Grrrr
Catjordy - 26-Apr-17 @ 4:49 PM
Royal Caribbean has advertised and kept our payment ($372.40 plus $11.17 transaction fee) for a product that it did not provide!!!!  As Diamond passengers, My wife and I cruised on Ovation of the Seas in February. As we have done for every cruise we paid for a soda package weeks before boarding.  Royal Caribbean advertises on several of their ships, including the Ovation of the Sea, that the ships have soda drink machines providing a wide variety of both standard and low calorie drinks. We have used these machines on other RC ships previously.  On the first day of our cruise we discovered the machines on board were totally empty of any low calorie drink except Diet Coke and that they would not be refilled.  We immediately sort a refund for our soda package and were promised on three different occasions that the soda package money would be repaid to our Mastercard.  After waiting over two months we have now been told there is no record that we sort a refund and that we will not be refunded because we did not take the drink cups back to the main desk........ something we were never told we had to do.  We are furious. Royal Caribbean should have provided the product they advertised. They assume that because they can’t find a record of events the events didn’t happen. It seems that they do not deliver on promises. They imply we are liars!!!!!!!! I was telephoned on my mobile number at approximately 8.30 am EST on Thursday April 13 from someone claiming to represent Royal Caribbean. She said the call would be recorded. Without any prompting from me, the caller quoted the Mastercard number from which I had paid for the drink packages and promised RC was going to refund me the money including the AUS$11.17 that I had paid in international transaction fees back into that account.  We have still not received the refund.
diamond treatment??? - 20-Apr-17 @ 11:50 AM
Booked 4 adults last June for 1 wk in Helios 21st April to 28th Apr 2017. Booked this hotel as 1 in wheelchair and 1 walking with a stick. Agent phoned on 18th Apr to say Helios is closed until 28th Apr. Being fumigated due to stomach bug. I emailed Helios confirmed stomach bug but no new cases for 5days. Open as usual and full. Emailed jet2. No nothing about it. Was offered accommodation with the realto. Not suitable for disabled people. It's up a hill. In residential area.No room apparently anywhere else. Have been offered full with refund with £40 each compensation. Don't understand why he has lied. Any feedback welcome
Suzanne - 19-Apr-17 @ 4:30 PM
@Bored - I know. I hate being bombarded with emails which are uninvited, it puts me off the company straight away. Even if you unsubscribe, so many don't take any notice at all. Dave.
DSAe49 - 19-Apr-17 @ 12:43 PM
I have been receiving unwanted,unsolicited,emails from LoveHolidays which have been identified as junk which is the only way I can describe this intrusion.If I was booking a holiday this would surely be the very last place I would look.Even exposure on Twitter has not deterred this company.
Bored - 19-Apr-17 @ 9:15 AM
Please be advised I contacted a travelling agent on Internet by the name Flyport.I called them and was provided a quotation for flights to Harare, Zimbabwe for 3 passengers with Emirates by a gentleman called Alex Smith.I was advised the flight was leaving from London, Gatwick but on return would be London Heathrow which I agreed though my preference was same airport to and fro so I could park my car at the airport. I advised Flyport I was going to pay with my credit card which I normally do for safety reasons.They asked me to pay £75 deposit for the three passengers which I did using my credit card.They advised me they would send an invoice evidencing the outstanding amount.Flights were £519.00 per each passenger. An invoice was received not from Flyport but from Flight Tickets UK showing the overall cost of £1 557.000 and an outstanding amount of £1 482.00 of which I was advised to pay into an HSBC Account under the name:Air Lord World Wide, sort code 40 04 01, A/C No. 42396025.There was also small print regarding loss of large sums of money in the name of cancellations.I knew there was no way I would have wanted to cancel my flight but still felt uncomfortable in light of the small print and the fact that some of the condition had not been discussed during my initial contact.I queried this with Flyport who re-assured me it was meant to protect Airlines in case of cancellations, at this stage I was reluctant to pay the outstanding £1482 but my deposit would not have been refundable too.I then agreed to pay and wasgoing to use my credit card, Flyport then advised me they did not take credit cards, I queried this as most companies would charge for credit card payments.Flyport consulted Mr Max Mathur of Flight Tickets UK whom he reported was his Boss, he maintained no credit card payments.I was very uncomfortable with this so I opted for an on-line payment instead of providing my Bank details.However, no ticket was ever issued; I had a phone call from Alex Smith of Flyport on Saturday after 3 pm advising that I had to sign the small print and email for tickets to be issued on Monday morning.I informed him I was going to scan and send before Monday start of business.I however, received a phone call from Flight Tickets UK - Max Mathur just before 7pm informing me the airline had cancelled my ticket but they would book me into a different flight that would return 3 days later than the initial booking, he also requested for a payment over £700 which he reported he would reduce to £650.00 on top of the full payment that had already been made. I requested to stick to my initial flight but he reiterated it to me that was the only available flight.I requested my money back as I did not have the extra money he was now telling me to pay.I informed him I had paid for my tickets in full.He insisted I had to put it in writing that I was cancelling my flights if I was not going to pay the extra.I informed him I did not
Bee - 7-Apr-17 @ 3:47 PM
I was refused boarding on a package holiday return flight as a disabled single traveler from Antalya airport by Jet2 staff in 2016.Jet2 said their staff in Antalya said I was aggressive. They made me ill as they bullied me for hours in 25 c f heat. I couldn't find my letter to permit me to take my medical suitcase aboard. After a few hours of bullying and being told I only arrived with one suitcase, even although their staff took off the flight labels from the inbound flight. I was constantly being told to stop talking that I wouldn't be allowed to board. I went to the disabled toilet and went through my suitcases and found the letter. I was still being told to stop talking or I wouldn't be allowed to fly. They said I was still iveraeght and when I even wrote it down how much luggage allowance I had I was then told that is it you aren't allowed to fly. The Jet2 response was that I walked away and refused to fly. They said uf I hadn't walked away I wasn't getting to fly anyway. I. Ontacted CAA who sad I have a genuine complaint but hey can't get me the £500 compensation that I was charged to get to the uk, plus 30 hours traveling time home. I contacted a lawyer and Jet2 still refuse to pay me as I gave no witnesses and their Turkish staff said I was aggressive. I contacted ABTA who git me hacked this week and emails regarding other things have disappeared from my email.Their advice twice, despite telling them it wasn't an airline booking but a package holiday is they have no authority to dispute an airline and to contact the CAA. Despite writing to them twice to say they haven't read my complaint and my evidence they are now closing the case and have referred me Twice back to the CAA who cannot help me.I am disgusted
Jeanettem1 - 18-Mar-17 @ 11:28 PM
Hello I booked and paid for return flights for my wife and her friend to go to New york on the 8th may 2017. It was for a special birthday and it was booked and paid for in full in November 2016. In early December 2016 Expedia said get in touch immediately, I did. They informed thomas cook had down graded the flights and seats. They said I would get a refund if several hundred pounds and new downgraded seat numbers would be sent straight away. We are Now on the 15th march 2017 I'm pulling my hair out with these companies they are bouncing me back and forth saying the other should pay the refund and they will phone me in 24 hours to discuss it doesn't happen! I have many emails to both companies which I have kept. I have asked to make formal complaints, managers to contact me absolutely nothing! I've complained on the Facebook websites,then another person from one of the companies asks for the exact same details we go through the whole process again and again and again different named person each time! I have also kept their names. I have phoned back asking fir the same person and never once been put through to them. I still haven't received any refund and I have no idea whether my wife and her friend have a seat on the plane to New York on the 8Th may 2017!!!! Can any one please help me. It's a disgrace what these companies get away with and its ruined the lovely surprise for my wife's big birthday
Lar - 15-Mar-17 @ 10:20 PM
Hello I booked and paid for return flights for my wife and her friend to go to New york on the 8th may 2017. It was for a special birthday and it was booked and paid for in full in November 2016. In early December 2016 Expedia said get in touch immediately, I did. They informed thomas cook had down graded the flights and seats. They said I would get a refund if several hundred pounds and new downgraded seat numbers would be sent straight away. We are Now on the 15th march 2017 I'm pulling my hair out with these companies they are bouncing me back and forth saying the other should pay the refund and they will phone me in 24 hours to discuss it doesn't happen! I have many emails to both companies which I have kept. I have asked to make formal complaints, managers to contact me absolutely nothing! I've complained on the Facebook websites,then another person from one of the companies asks for the exact same details we go through the whole process again and again and again different named person each time! I have also kept their names. I have phoned back asking fir the same person and never once been put through to them. I still haven't received any refund and I have no idea whether my wife and her friend have a seat on the plane to New York on the 8Th may 2017!!!! Can any one please help me. It's a disgrace what these companies get away with and its ruined the lovely surprise for my wife's big birthday
Lar - 15-Mar-17 @ 10:15 PM
GOOD aftenoon to allthe team and staff Areyou all well and fine for Wednesday morning and also are you in fine and happy spiritis as well and keep up the good work at your department in the weekday. i am enquing about your office. When you get your incoming letters or mail which comes direct to your department on weekday mornings only could you save all your mail with stamps on them. Could you send them when your brown or white envelope is decent or full and please put a compliment slip in the envelope with your name on the side of it so then i know where it comes from in the weekdays. The address where to send all the stamps to weekdays is this mr Stephen fleming Business Support Officer 4 moor platt Close Horwich nr Bolton lancashire BL6 6QJ Platform 1 Reply back by e mails if your office or department receives No stamps at all in thw weekdays this means it comes like these different reasons in the weekday. A Corresponds by E mails B Internally only C Franked Post Only D Business Mail which comes direct weekdays E has a Franking Machine at the department Platform 2 Reply back by e mails if your office and department has a charity in a different area and if you have a charity on weekdays which is it? e mail me back Kind Regards Stephen Fleming Business Support Officer 4 moor platt Close Horwich nr Bolton lancashire BL6 6Q
ANDREW - 14-Mar-17 @ 10:48 PM
Hi I'm looking for some advice please. I've bookeda 3 day holiday away with the girls to Benidorm. The intention was to stay all inclusive at a Hotel. The travel agent checked and advised the Hotel was full but we could still book all inclusive and stay in the Hotels sister apartmentsbut still use the Hotels facilities and be all inclusive. It's now come to light that by accepting this we will now have to pay a £300.00 (per apartment) refundable deposit on arrival for any breakages at the apartments. Bearing in mind we are paying an all inclusive price for the holiday, are we obliged to pay the deposit on top? This was not pointed out to us at the time of sale and I feel we have been mislead. We are paying all inclusive prices but now being treated like we are on a self catering holiday. Any advice appreciated
Blondie - 9-Mar-17 @ 1:08 PM
Hi I have just booked which I thought was a good deal holiday to Tenerife with save on sun.After paying deposit of 600 they have missold this holiday to me with a bunch of lies firstly changed holiday dates then phoned us to say the flights they gave us was no longer available and told us we would have to pay extra for these flights when confirmation by email came on luggage allowance wasn't on it when we queried this they said we hadn't paid for this which we had my husband specially asked for four hold bags and they added this on they said and transfers to and from hotel which they are now saying wasn't included either and we would have to pay for this the price we were given was suppose to be all this included hence why we purchased holiday we have totally been misplaced this holiday with lies and deceit therefore we should be entitled to a full refund on our deposit of 600 pounds
Jan - 26-Jan-17 @ 10:25 PM
I requested a quote from emenac travel for a virgin flight to Barbados with extra leg room seats. They gave me a reasonable quote which I agreed to purchase. I gave my credit card details. Emenac (Jeff) phoned back 5 mins later saying due to his clerical error he hadnt booked extra legroom seats on the return flight. The quote he gave was £400 extra so I said no thanks. He said oh we have taken £200 non refundable deposit! I said but if you had given me the correct quote initially I would not have booked! He said no way would I get a refund so I paid for the seats. Then i got the e-tickets with mo extra leg room booked. After a fortune spent phoning virgin and emenac I got some seats book (not together as unavailable). So emenac lied about the cost if the flights! Did not book the extra leg room which I overpaid £400 for. They illegally kept my £200 deposit to blackmail me to make the booking! TOTAL SCAM!!!
Cat scam - 24-Jan-17 @ 10:35 PM
I booked abreak for my wife and myselfat Jurys on the waterfront , Brighton through, Expedia, when we arrived we were given the keys to our room, we were shocked at the condition of the room and the beding, we contacted the manager and she gave us another room, which was not up to the standard, so she gave us a suite which we accepted, then we found out that the hotel was going through a major refurbishment, the air conditioning was not working, then in the morning we went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast, discusting, at the time of the booking I was not informed that the hotel was having a major refit and know air conditioning, we have been offered£150 but I don't think that is a fair amount concidering the upset wesuffered, it was ourwedding anniversary
Mally - 23-Nov-16 @ 6:30 AM
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice...
Title:
(never shown)
Firstname:
(never shown)
Surname:
(never shown)
Email:
(never shown)
Nickname:
(shown)
Comment:
Validate:
Enter word:
Topics
Latest Comments
Further Reading...
Our Most Popular...
Add to my Yahoo!
Add to Google
Stumble this
Add to Twitter
Add To Facebook
RSS feed
You should seek independent professional advice before acting upon any information on the ComplaintExpert website. Please read our Disclaimer.